People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is a lot of uncertainty around the semantics of people's personalities and attitudes--are they inherent traits, acquired traits, or maybe a mix of both? While some would argue that society plays a larger role in determining one's attitudes than by one's immediate situation or surroundings, I disagree. People who are close to us—our family and our friends—have the biggest impacts on our lives. Furthermore, factors like our socioeconomic status or our family dynamic at home largely influence how we feel and act. While it is plausible that society as a whole will have some effect on one's behavior, it is not as obvious as one's immediate situation or surroundings.

Firstly, those who are closest to us, play the largest role in determining our behavior: our relatives, our teachers, and our friends. A child's first few years are crucial to the development of his or her personality. It is often the case, that children who come from secure and loving homes fare better than those who do not. Foster children or children from unstable household are more likely to show behavioral problems and have a harder time forming close bonds or relationships with others in their later years. Additionally, the people we surround ourselves with at school and work also have an immediate effect on our own lives. Positive friends can be the light in our lives, while negative, toxic ones can insidiously detract from it. Regardless of what societal values and views a community or nation can have, they are outshined by the values of those closest to us. Hence, when these values contradict one another, we are more likely to acknowledge the values of those we trust. As a result, our behavior and personality are largely influenced by those that surround us.

Furthermore, our immediate situation such as our socioeconomic status can play a large role in determining our attitudes. It is often the case, that children from middle class families do better in school and are more likely to stay out of prison than children who come from more disadvantaged families. Struggling families may have trouble putting food on the table or providing their children with the basic necessities. Not only does this put the child at a disadvantage with his peers but can have major mental and social ramifications as well. One's socioeconomic status also plays a large role in determining the types of opportunities he or she may have. It is hard for a child to focus on doing well in school if they are hungry and stressed out from issues that carry over from their domestic life. These types of issues can compound into major roadblocks in one's later years: perhaps as a result of their poor childhood, bad grades have rendered college an unviable option. Hence, our immediate situation has a large impact on the kinds of opportunities that are made available to us, and as a result, these opportunities will have a large impact on our own behavior. A college educated adult in a nine to five job is often more content than someone who is struggling with a minimum wage job.

Nevertheless, comparing Nordic countries like Sweden or Denmark with the United States, it is plausible to see how society can have an impact on one's attitude and behavior. Citizens from Nordic countries consistently place as some of the happiest people in the world—whereas a large portion of citizens from the United States expressed dissatisfaction with their lives. Nordic countries place more importance on areas such as social welfare and a good quality of life; the United States, on the other hand, prizes its capitalistic mentality over all else. As a result, people from similar socioeconomic statuses can have vastly different attitudes depending on the country or community they reside in.

While it is difficult to quantify what exactly determines one's attitude, the best we can do for now is make an assumption off empirical evidence. It has been shown, that more often than not, our immediate situation and surroundings play a larger role in determining our behavior than society as a whole. This is because, while societal values are omnipresent but vague, values of those closest to us are glaringly loud and clear. Our immediate situations such as our socioeconomic status or our family dynamic have proven to have major influences on our behavior, time and time again. However, with all the improvement in modern technology, perhaps one day there will be a immaculate scientific explanation that will tell us why we are the way we are.