Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those
whose views contradict our own.
Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim
and the reason on which that claim is based.
Only learning from people who share the same views as us can seem like an easy solution—not
only would it be a stress-free interaction, but people inherently trust likeminded individuals over
those who hold opposing views. However, I think we must also learn from people who hold
opposing views because they challenge our own beliefs; which in turn, forces us to inspect the
validity of our beliefs even further. Furthermore, learning from people with all types of different
views allows us to have a broader, more-holistic approach on an issue or a subject. Therefore,
while interacting with people who share contradicting views may be uncomfortable, it is a
necessary evil, because people learn the most when they have a comprehensive understanding of
an issue or a subject—from all angles and perspectives.
It is far easier to trust the opinions and assertions of likeminded individuals than people who we
disagree with on a visceral level. Hence, it is arguable to say that people learn the most from
those who have similar views to their own. Take for example, the current state of the U.S.
college system, where some conservative students feel that they are not being heard or are being
treated unfairly. Hence, they could view the classes that they take at an ostensibly liberal
institution as biased or dishonest and therefore, refuse to truly listen to what their teachers have
to say. This can also be seen in our two-state political system, where Republicans are more likely
to listen to the views of their own leaders than Democratic leader because of pure distrust for the
opposition. Global Warming is a proven phenomenon, with near unanimous support from
scientists around the world, yet, most Republicans refuse to acknowledge it because they view it
as leftist propaganda from the Democrats. Perhaps, if Global Warming was pushed for by
Republican leaders, Republicans would be more open to listening. Therefore, learning from
likeminded individuals can allow people the opportunity to approach some issues with a more
open mind rather than a defensive one.
However, only learning from likeminded individuals can severely inhibit our worldview. More
so, choosing to only learn from people whose views a person shares can close a lot of doors or
opportunities for them. Take for example, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict in the middle east. Both
sides of the conflict, constantly surrounded by those who agree with them, refuse to listen to or
acknowledge the viewpoints of the other side. When someone is only surrounded by people who
support their views, it is near impossible to acknowledge those with opposing ones: exposure and
proximity to people with opposing views are vital in the marketplace of ideas. Hence, only
listening to likeminded individuals can create an isolated echo-chamber and foster an unyielding,
stubborn mentality.
Lastly, it must be acknowledged that people have many different views on a whole range of
topics. It is almost impossible to meet someone who agrees with you wholeheartedly on every
single view you hold. Hence, it is somewhat faulty to claim that you can learn more from
likeminded individuals, because to some degree, you will both agree and disagree with
everybody to some extent. Thus, despite the stress opposing views may cause, it is important to
interact and be open to learning from them, because it is impossible to meet someone without
any opposing views. When the idea that opposing viewpoints cause stress and are hence,
counterproductive are taken to the extreme, authoritarian countries such as China, Russia, and
North Korea are the result—where holding opposing ideologies can not only be dangerous but
even illegal. Therefore, it is important to be accepting of different viewpoints, even if they are
upsetting or uncomfortable.
To conclude, even though interacting with people whose views you oppose can be at best,
uncomfortable and at worst, a stress-inducing event, it is a necessary evil. While learning from
likeminded individuals may allow us to approach a subject with a less defensive mindset, it
ultimately limits your learning potential because you remain unexposed to the broader picture
and you remain unwilling to understand or acknowledge any perspective that is not your own.
Hence, people will learn the most when they accept that everyone agrees or disagree with them
to some extent and it is best to keep an open mind with everybody. However, it remains to be
seen whether the new age of digital interconnectivity will further help people understand other's
views and perspectives even more or whether it will just create more echo-chambers for different
communities.