The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

"Technology, is of course, a double-edged sword. Fire can cook our food but also burn us." -- Jason Silva. As human technological capabilities advance, once seemingly "sci-fi" technolgies such as Artifical Intelligence and Machine Learning are playing an increasing role in everyday human lives. However, some critics argue that machines will never truly replace humans, because they are nothing more than tools of human minds. Seeing as even the smarted biologists themselves fail to truly comprehend the complete emchanics of the human mind, it is questionable whether it can ever truly be replicated in machine form. However, who is to say that the human mind is the acme of all forms of intelligence. It has already been proven that machines are capable of doing somes task much better than humans could ever do. While machines will most probably never be capable of perfectly emulating human minds, they will definetly come to do many, if not all, human tasks, better than human beings themselves.

While scientific breakthroughs such as genome sequencing have revolutionized our understanding of human minds, we are still a long way from understanding them in their entirety. Popular technologies such as "Artifical Intelligence" and "Machine Learning," can seemingly sound as if they are supplanting or perfectly mimicing true human intelligence, or in reality very rudimentary impressions of how human minds work. AI is nothing more than a set of "yes or no" options--dependent on easily measurable internal or external factors- programmed into a machine. Machine learning makes use of reinforcement learning that is a very primitive implementation of how humans understand and approach new concepts or challenges. Until humans figure out how every single part of the human brain works--its functions, mechanics, applications--they will never be able to compeltely replicate it. And even if this information was attainable one day, it is still doubtful whether we will every have the technology to transfer the intelleigence of carbon-based lifeforms into silicon chips.

However,the entire premise that human minds will always remain far superios to machines, is based on the premise that the human mind is the zenith of all known forms of intelligence. But how ddoes one quantify intelligence? Octopi are known for their highly intelligent decentralized brains--independent and functional in its seperate tentacles. Dolphins use sonar and electromagnetism to navigate the oceans. There are many types of different intelligent lifeforms already present, who think in and work in vastly different ways than humans do--sometimes in ever more superios ways. Machines have already proven to outperform humans in tasks where repition and tedious calculations are involved. It is entirely possible that machines become superior to humans, even if they are not derivatives or emulators of human minds.

Computers have already beaten humans at "highly intellectual" games for the human mind such as chess. Computer programming has only been around for a couple of decades and it has already surpassed created programs that surpasse the capabilities of some of the smartest human beings. A famous example being the world renowned chess player being defeated by a chess program. Machines are wired differently from humans, and can hence, perform tasks which they were made for, better than humans can. Calculators and inscribers were once the jobs of humans. However, technology has been able to more quickly and efficiently do their jobs. However, machines have been unable to ever outform some human tasks such as writing stories and making art. Human minds and machine intelligence can both be equally superior in different ways.

The onset of revolutionary technologies such as AI and machine learning in recent years has opened upon a discussion about their potential roles in the future. Perhaps, rendering the need for human intelligence obsolete oneday. However, intelligence is difficult to quantify and near impossible to compare. Machines are already better at doing many menial human tasks, and in the future they will continue to pick up and more efficiently complete low level human tasks that are unwanted by humans--opening the door for new fields and opportunities for the people. Machines will not out perform or become superior to human minds, but work in tandem with them to propel us forward to a better future.