In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Imagination is a powerful tool and has been one of the main facilitators behind humanity’s grandest inventions. The Wright brothers imagined of a machine that would allow them to fly, before they went through the process of actualizing that vision in real life. If people couldn't use imagination to conjure up some of the boldest human inventions such as a rocket that could take us to the moon or a tiny mechanic capsule that would allow us to explore the depths of the ocean, these magnificent things wouldn't exist in our modern-day world. However, without the knowledge or capabilities to actualize the things in people’s head, they remain nothing more than a pipedream. Furthermore, there are many instances where modern-day innovators and researchers have come to a standstill with their work because the required supplemental technology just isn't there yet. Hence, while imagination is a prerequisite to any great human innovation, it is near worthless if the means to pull it off are not possible.

Firstly, imagination is at the head of every great journey, be it a scientific discovery, an artistic masterpiece, or even a technological innovation. If people did not have the capability to think of a world much better than the one they currently lived in, they would have no motivation for progress or change. Take Elon Musk for example, the CEO of two multibillion dollars companies—SpaceX and Tesla—who was once called radical for his unorthodox ideas. While many people claimed that solar cars just couldn't compete in a predominantly gas-powered auto sector, Elon Musk imagined that it could be done. As a result, today hundreds of thousands of Teslas, solar-powered cars, have been sold, and the company continues to thrive. Elon Musk imagined that one day humans would live on Mars, and as a result, he has built SpaceX to help make that dream a reality. Therefore, imagination is crucial to every profession and academic field—people should be encouraged to think of bold new ideas that are outside of the box.

However, long before the Wright brothers or Elon Musk existed, there were plenty of people who would gaze up at the never-ending sky and hope to fly through it one day or even go beyond it to the stars. However, the technology to achieve those dreams just hasn't come around until the past century or so. While all those people before Musk and the Wright brothers have similarly imagined such bold ideas, these ideas were almost meaningless because they only existed in their heads. Centuries of physics and mechanics were the building blocks used to make the first airplane. While the Write brothers used their imagination to see just what tampering with those blocks could create, nothing could have been done without the blocks of knowledge themselves.

Furthermore, there are many modern-day hurdles researchers and innovators face, because the technology is just not there to support them yet. Take for example, a popular cryptographic algorithm known as the Shor's algorithm which has already been invented and proven to work perfectly on a quantum computer. A type of cryptographic algorithm that far outperforms any of the one's cryptographers currently use, however, without the technology present to build a fully working quantum computer, Shor's algorithm remains useless. Moreover, physicists, far before CERN was built, predicted the existence of the god particle through theoretical means. However, before CERN, the technology just didn't exist to prove that these hypotheses were indeed correct. Hence, technology, a fungible form of knowledge, is arguably just as crucial to achieving a dream as imagination is.

To conclude, while imagination is necessary and vital to any great invention or idea, it is meaningless if it is not properly supported by the knowledge and technology needed to bring it to life. However, imagination and knowledge are both equally important to any idea. People need bold ideas and visions to work towards a better world, and they need the knowledge and technology to help actualize their ideas and visions.