Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Science has revolutionized the way humans interact with the world. Physics has allowed people to take advantage of elements such as wind and water to generate electricity. Biology and medicine have vastly improved the quality and longevity of human lives. While scientific discoveries have given us a better understanding of the world around us, it has simultaneously opened our eyes to the true complexity and constraints of our current understandings. Niche scientific fields within physics--such as astronomy and theoretical physics--have even the most renowned physicists scratching their heads. As we answer more scientific question, inevitably more will pop up--this does not mean scientists should give up. It's in human nature to embrace a challenge.

The ancient Greeks used to believe that the weather was based upon the moods of their gods. A thunderstorm was said to be caused by the wrath of Zeus--the god of the skies. After centuries of scientific discoveries and progress, however, humans were able to send up satellite technologies into space and use technical tools such as barometers to better understand and predict the weather. A thunderstorm was no longer an unpredictable even, born out of the anger of a god, but the result of a predictable environmental factors. While ancient civilizations believed that deathly plagues were a result of the god's displeasure with humans, modern medicine has proven otherwise. The discovery of antibiotics and vaccination has vastly transformed the way humans look at disease and illnesses. Science has unequivocally given us a better understanding of fields such as meteorology and medicine--especially in comparison with our human ancestors.

However, our scientific progress has come accompanied with a whole host of new scientific questions. The day's where Newtonian physics were first discovered were much simpler than where physicists are at now. The centuries following that era have come concomitant with complex issues such as quantum mechanics, dark energy, and dark matter. Chemistry has revealed to us that our earlier understanding of an atomic structure, a core of protons and neutrons surrounded by concentric orbits of electrons, was much more complex and nuanced than chemists could've once imagined. It has become somewhat paradoxical that the more knowledge human civilizations acquire, the more knowledge there becomes to yet be discovered.

Science has transformed the way humans perceive the world. Phenomena that were once mysterious and unpredictable have become either predictable or 'to be solved.' Science has granted us the knowledge that while the world is incredibly complex, much more so than our ignorantly blissful ancestors could've ever imagined, there is an answer to everything—it just needs to be found. It is difficult to say whether we've accumulated more questions or answers through our scientific discoveries--it is difficult to quantify. But one thing of certain, regardless of the number of new questions scientific discoveries bring up, it is in human nature to keep striving towards the answers.