In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field

It is unarguably true that, the past achievements in a particular field acts as the building block for adding a new significant contribution to the field. But I do not completely agree with the authors claim that it is impossible to make significant contribution without strongly influenced by past achievements.

Firstly, it is often said that 'There has to be a first time'. In every field there is someone who introduced new things into the field without having any past information or experience into it. For example, the Wright brothers were successful is inventing, building and flying first airplane. In this case, they had no experiences in the past still they made the impossible thing possible.

Secondly, it is not always necessary to have some past experience to significantly contribute into the field. Human race is the best example to show it. Human race is always about making the things which are unattainable possible. For example, in the initial days, cell phones only had the button displays but in recent past touchscreen displays are used . Another example comes from NASA when they first landed their spacecraft on moon it was the first time.

However, having some experience in that field always helps in increasing the productivity of the contribution as the building blocks are already ready. These experiences can be used as a base for making new advancement in the field for example, as mentioned before the wright brothers invented the airplanes and now we use the similar mechanisms in order to manufacture todays state of the art aircrafts.

To sum up, is it not impossible to make contribution into he field if there is no past experience but on the other hand the past experience could be used to future advancements in the field of study.