On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals

The author concludes that, the number of accidents on the Balmer island will reduce if the number of mopeds which are rented by the people are reduced to 25 vehicles per day from the current number of 50. The author uses the data from last year, where neighbouring Seaville island implemented this and the accidents were reduced. However, author makes several assumptions which need to be addressed before coming to a decision.

Firstly, the author mentions that, the moped is popular form of transport on the Balmer island but in no way the author state whether moped is the only form of transport. For one, it may be that the people who visit Balmer island during summers bring their own vehicles and use that vehicle for roaming around the island. If this is considered as a possibility, then even if the number of mopeds rented are reduced then also the number of accidents will not reduce.

Furthermore, the author does not mention the percent of accidents which take place due to increase in number of mopeds it is a possibility that the number of incidents involving mopeds and pedestrians take place due to other reasons such as breaking rules by the driver or pedestrian walking without giving attention to nearby surroundings. If this is the case then reducing the number of mopeds will not make any difference in the number of accidents which take place.

Finally, author claims that reducing the number of mopeds will reduce the number of accidents based on the fact that, last year the neighbouring island of Seville implemented this and there was reduction in the number of accidents. However, it is not necessary that the solution which is successfully implemented in Seville will work in Balmer. The author does not mention anything about the cause of accidents which took place at Seville. It might be the case that the number of accidents in Seville are very less as compared to Balmer because their are strict rules on driving mopeds on the island rather than the number of mopeds. Also, it might be the case that Balmer island have more hilly region which makes difficult for the moped driver to drive the vehicle but in such cases just reducing the mopeds will not be the solution which will stop the accidents.

To sum up, reducing the number of accidents on the island is the ultimate goal for town council. But deeper analysis of the cause of accidents should be done before taking any step to reduce the number of mopeds.