Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The author asserts that, there should be a change in leadership after 5 years in any field like education, government or business, and claims that this is the surest path to success for any enterprise. However, I not completely agree with the authors claim.

Firstly, in most of the cases, the organizations are built on the experience of the people in that field i.e. business, politics, education. According to me, I feel that in order to be leader of an enterprise and to gain all the leadership qualities, 5 years are not enough. As it is said that 'Experience is the best teacher' how will one gain the leadership qualities required to successfully run an organization if he/she has to step down after 5 years.

Secondly, leadership is not just running the day to day activities of the organization but it also includes the relationships with the people, clients, employees who truly have a huge contribution in success of the organization. The trust, relations are not built in short time but require years to mature and develop. For example, if a client approached a company through the manager and manager have a good repo with the client but if the manager steps down after 5 years it is not necessary that the new manager will have same understanding and relationship with the client which may result in losing the client and in turn loss to the company.

Finally, on the contrary, it totally depends on whether the leader is performing or not. If the leader is not giving good results to an organization, it is necessary to replace the leader but if a leader is delivering exceptionally then there is no need to change the leadership. In such cases, changing the leadership can affect the enterprise very badly. For example, in a country, if the government is not keeping up its promises and is not delivering then the government should be thrown out of power and the country needs to be under different leadership.

To sum up, in my opinion, the change in leadership should be based on the effectiveness of the leader to manage the organization. If the leader successfully manages the organization and bring glories to the company then there is no need to change the leader. However, if the leader fails to do the job then he/she should be replaced for a fresh start to an organization.