The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that Adams Realty is clearly superior as compared to Fitch Realty. The author uses the statistical data of the number of real estate agent working for both the firms and revenue of two firms as evidence. However, author makes several assumptions that need to be addressed before determining the superiority of the two Realty.

Firstly, the author assumes that Fitch Realty is better and superior to Adams realty on the basis that Adams Realty has more estate agents than Fitch agents and most of the Fitch agents work part time. However, the author does not provide any evidence of the quality of the service these agents give to the customers. It is not necessary that the success of firm is directly proportional to the number of agents working. For one, it might be that the agents of Fitch Realty are more effective than Adams Realty and sell more houses individually than the agents in Adams Realty.

Furthermore, the author assumes that Adams revenue last year was more than the Fitch's. But the author overshadows the possibility that there can be some abberations in the data last year due to some reasons like the locations of the houses sold and otherwise Fitch's annual revenue is more than that of Adams. Author even does not mention about the areas in which these houses were sold. It may be the case that Adams sold properties in the larger cities and Fitch sold the houses in the smaller cities and hence revenue of Adams is more than that of Fitch as the costs and buying capacity is more in the larger cities, but it does not mean that Adams realty is more superior than Fitch.

Finally, author shares his experience of selling houses with Fitch and Adams. He claimed that selling his house 10 years ago with Fitch Realty took more time than selling his house one year ago with Adams. But author does not mention about the economic conditions of time when he sold both the houses. It is possible that 10 years ago due to slower economic conditions there were no people ready to buy houses, so authors house took time to sell off. Also, the author does not mention the condition of the two houses. It might be that the house which the author sold with Fitch was not in a very good condition as compared to the house which is sold with Adams.

To sum up, author makes many assumptions to conclude that Adams Realty is more effective than Fitch. But we do not have enough information and evidences to support the claim. Hence author must consider all the factors before coming to any conclusion.