In any field of endeavour, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

The significance of having a fore knowledge of any entity which a person tries to endeavor is immeasurable. A superfluous amount of fore-knowledge puts the person into the driving seat of a successful endeavor. Although in some exceptional cases, it may not be necessary to have a strong influence of the past achievements.

Behind many major scientific discoveries, there is a hand of the scientists' knowledge of the fundamentals of that topic. Fundamentals are an essential part of any phenomenon. A competent scientist is obligated to have the fundamental knowledge about any concept. Like the age-old aphorism "Rome wasn't built in a day.", the modern technology we observe around us was not built with the snap of a finger. First, the invention of transistors took place. Which lead to the synthesis of various logic gates, which further became the crux of the digital circuitries. By combining such appropriate multiple circuits, Charles Babbage finally invented the 'Computer'. Hence, without the prior knowledge of the miniscule transistor, the existence of the invention of the decade would not have been there.

Furthermore, one can look back at the mistakes done by their predecessors and improve upon that. A fine example of that is the evolution of the atomic model representation. According to Sir J.J. Thompson, the atom which is the smallest part of any matter consists of protons and electrons and it looks like a plum pudding. After the rejection of this model due to its scientific flaws, Ernest Rutherford brought forward an improved model which was further ameliorated by Neils Bohr and then Schrodinger and finally Sommerfeld. Today, the actual representation of an atom would not have been possible if the concepts of proton and electron were not understood or ignored by the scientists. Which would lead to lack of knowledge of the atom and it would have been arduous to understand its various properties.

In some cases, it was not necessary for people to accept the prior concepts and work upon them. Nicolas Copernicus, the man who proposed the Heliocentric theory of the solar system which suggests that the Sun resides in the center of the solar system. This theory was announced as false back in the day and a Geocentric theory prevailed. After a few years, Copernicus' theory was proven to be true. Similarly, Max Plank went out of his way to synthesize a new string of theories completely distinct from then-prevailing classical Newtonian theories. He was successful in giving to the world his theories of Quantum Mechanics. These individuals are the quintessential of not necessarily accepting the dogma and going out of one's way to put forth something unknown to the world. Both these discoveries were revolutionary in their respective fields.

At the end, it is quite advantageous to have knowledge about the past achievements. It helps with carrying on by accepting a set of statements as 'laws'. But in some cases, an individual's brilliance and vision foreshadows these laws and bring about a revolutionary change in the society. In no way I am trying to undermine those who are influenced by the works of the past. What I am trying to conclude is that the word 'impossible' in the statement makes it a bit radical because as the evidence suggests, it is not at all impossible to make a significant contribution without being influenced by the entities of the past.