In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

In any field of inquiry, the experts always have better chance than the beginners to make important contributions. This is because the experts have developed better skills and techniques, have more thorough knowledge of the field and have access to different resources necessary for making any contribution.

To begin with, the experts, by definition, are well-trained with the skills and techniques that are necessary for making contribution to a field.For example, in the field of computer science, the technique of building sophisticated mathematical models is essential.Usually, experts in computer science have more experience of building math models and revising them when the results are not ideal. Also important is developing the programs to implement the math models. It is true that beginners may be more energetic and can program faster than the experts. But the experts are often better skilled in debugging the programs and optimising the algorithms.As illustrated in this example, experts who are more skilful in performing essential tasks in a field have a better chance to make contribution.

Another advantage of the experts is their thorough knowledge of the field.In most academic disciplines, it is essential to review the literature before starting one’s own research projects.Reviewing the literature can help one identify the gap of knowledge that needs to be filled and choose the most appropriate methods that have been successfully adopted in previous studies. With more time spent in the field, the experts are usually much more familiar with the literature than the beginners. In fact, the real experts are often the authors of some key articles in the literature.With their knowledge of the literature and past accomplishments in the field, they can identify the really important issues for inquiry and pursue the projects with better potential.

Finally, compared to the beginners, the experts have more resources in their disposal. Experts usually get more funding from the governments or other foundations than beginners because the experts had a record of successful projects that can predict their future success of the next project. he funding agencies would more likely accept a grant application from an expert based on the assumption that they are more likely to succeed. In addition, experts are usually the leaders of a team in which beginners work for them as PhD students or junior researchers. The team leaders usually take most of the credit for the contribution of the teams.