In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely to make an important contribution than the expert. I understand the point being made by the author of this statement, although the author fails to consider that in order to make an important contribution, a person needs to back it up with a plausible explanation. Beginner's luck runs out eventually and it is the expert who survives against oblivion. As a result, I disagree with the statement discussed in the previous lines and I offer a brief explanation about my position in the paragraphs below.

In a field of inquiry such as science, it is often perceived that beginners try to fiddle with domains that have not been touched before, owing to which they discover something important which ultimately changes the world. I agree that such instances have taken place, but the count of such discoveries are minuscule when compared to discoveries that were reasoned out by the scientists. Science is a paradigm that has critics eagerly waiting to mar a discovery that is unconventional or never been thought of. In situations like these, an expert can provide empirical evidence to support the discovery the he or she has made. Beginners would dwindle under such scrutiny and even though they have made a significant contribution to science, the sheer weight of scientific scrutiny demoralizes them. An expert can show panache and overcome the scrutiny, and be honored for a significant find.

Similarly, the field of politics is a domain of inquiry wherein the politicians are scrutinized by the media, citizens of the country and opposing parties. A beginner cannot make a significant contribution unless he or she studies the democratic data of the country. Politicians are asked numerous questions regarding religion, political views and personal affairs. A beginner without having the knowledge to speak logically might cost his party, a chance to become the ruling party. The ability to criticize enemys and gather support from the masses requires years of rigor. An expert politician will always say things that he expects the masses will love to listen and answer questions in a way that pleases his supporters. If a beginner is put in front of the nation, more often than not, it is bound do be a diabolical affair for the party he represents. Therefore, politics is a domain wherein a beginner cannot make as significant a contribution, as the experts.

Proponents of the above claim would contend that even though minuscule, discoveries by beginners hold significance in the area of inquiry they are employed in. I agree that accidental discoveries by beginners have been pivotal, although these discoveries need to be justified. This is where the experts provide their key contributions. Experts can study the discovery and shield it from the criticism of the world. Without the blanket of empirical evidence, any important contribution, even by an expert will never achieve a status of credibility in the contemporary world. Hence, an expert holds a more crucial role when it comes making important contributions than the beginners.

In sum, I strongly oppose the statement that in any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely to make an important contribution than the expert. The generalization made by this statement is too extreme and on the contrary, it is the experts, who as a virtue of their reasoning make significant contributions.