In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view

Society is a collection of mass where everyone is inter-connected and inter-dependent. So, the progress of society means progress of everyone. To ensure an equal distribution of progress opinions from all sides should be considered. Hence, I strongly agree with the statement that progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of views.

First of all, most of the states of the world are democratic states where people are the source of power. That’s why people have their rights to express their opinion which may be contrasting. Otherwise, people will become powerless element of the society and their participation in the development will not occur. As a result, society will not progress in the balanced way. To ensure the balanced progress which will facilitate all the people of the society, discussion among people of contrasting point of views is required. For example, in parliament of the democratic states, ruling party and opponent party both have their rights to express their opinions regarding any development project of the country. Ruling party can’t execute projects with their own accord because it will jeopardize the democracy of the states.

Secondly, to make any effective and sustainable progress of the society contradictory views should be considered properly because it helps to find foibles of the current plans. For example, in Bangladesh traffic jam is a severe problem. To eradicate traffic jam government is constructing more and more roads and highways but this is not working well to solve the problems. A group of researchers suggested that only construction of more roads and highways is not enough to fight this problem rather mass transit such as train, metro, bus route should be improved and use of private cars should be discouraged by imposing extra fees. At first government didn’t pay heed to their suggestion but later understood that their suggestion was more effective solution than constructing more roads and highways.

Finally, to ensure the proper distribution of the progress in every parts of the society discussion among people of different views should be considered. Otherwise, people who will not be able to express opinions, will not be able to claim their needs. For example, in Bangladesh, minorities are unable to protest the tyranny that is going on them because leaders of the ruling party don’t pay heed to the complaints to satiate the majority. That’s why minor people of the society are deprived of their rights although there are lots progresses in various sectors of the country.

In summary, from aforementioned analysis and examples it is lucid that in any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of views.