To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

A public official has an entrusted responsibility to lead the nation and its citizens to prosperity. His effectiveness as a leader is dictated by his success in fulfilling this duty. Lack of moral and ethical compass seriously interferes with an official’s ability to achieve this success and hence his effectiveness as a leader. Therefore, the statement that a public official must maintain the highest moral and ethical standards to be an effective leader is largely agreeable. Yet, one must not underestimate other requisites for effective leadership.

The public official is selected to operate crucial government offices on behalf of the people for their welfare. He is supposed to work in the public interest, overcoming personal temptations. Without maintaining highest moral and ethical standards, he is almost certain to fail in this expectation. Clinching to power at any cost, embezzlement, nepotism, etc. would become his driving interests. This scenario would deprive the nation from economic and social growth and result in rampant disparities among the people. Moreover, without highest level of ethical and moral standards, the authority of a leader would hardly serve as a deterrent for his subordinates against malpractices. They would perceive their boss as either too lenient or complicit in their misadventures. This in turn fosters a corruption lobby concentrating all the power to exploit the country and its people. Breaking this lobby, requires an official to lead by an example giving a clear message that he would neither participate nor tolerate even the slightest of immoral and unethical behaviour.

Highest moral and ethical standards are also the pre-requisites for a leader to defy short-term transient gains; envision long term goals for his country and adopt fair means to achieve them. It was for this reason that Abraham Lincoln was able to abolish the practice and idea of slavery permanently despite the contemporary popular belief that blacks are naturally inferior to whites. Without adhering to moral and ethical values, he could have easily succumbed to the public sentiments for electoral gains and America would have never evolved as torch bearer of freedom and equality. Apart from setting high goals, moral and ethical principles also show the right path to achieve them. Consider two contrasting examples of Nelson Mandela and Adolf Hitler who both struggled for the pride of their races. While the former successfully achieved the abolishment of apartheid imposed against the Blacks by then South African government; the latter lacking moral and ethical beliefs brought destruction and carnage both for the ‘Aryan race’ and the rest of the world.

Critics argue that as long as an official’s character doesn’t refrain him from fulfilling his duty, he can be exempted from this requirement of morality. For instance, while Nixon was fixed in Watergate scandal, he achieved many diplomatic goals with USSR and China in a turbulent global environment. This argument becomes more prominent for personal morality which hardly has a bearing on an official’s functioning. However, effective leadership cannot be established without building a trust with the people who view their leaders as role models to be emulated. Hence, once a leader’s misdemeanours come to the fore, he suddenly falls from the popular grace. This has especially become more prevalent in the present age of media scrutiny. Bill Clinton’s demise brought about by his personal scandal is a telling example. Therefore, in personal life too, officials must at least maintain a baseline of ethical behaviour.

People further argue that virtuosity is an inherent and rare quality of late. Thus, demanding highest level of morality is unrealistic. However, philosophers have espoused that like any other behaviour traits, ethical and moral behaviour can also be acquired over the time through constant practice. However, moral and ethical behaviour must not come at the cost of other leadership qualities. A saintly leader can also prove to be the worst without wisdom, pragmatism and other important leadership qualities.

In conclusion, the statement finds credence in the fact that without maintaining the highest moral and ethical standards, a public official cannot fulfil the assigned responsibility of achieving the well-being of the nation. Even in personal life, he is required to achieve a baseline moral behaviour to keep public trust which is a requisite for effective leadership. However, in stressing the importance of morality to be an effective leader, one must not underestimate the importance of other leadership qualities.