The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The best ideas, which might give birth to innovations, definitely require a person to have a passionate interest in a particular topic. The respective topic may or may not be a commonplace thing. The given statement is not completely agreeable as there are many aspects related to how the best ideas come into existence. Person needs to be passionately interested in a thing in order to get inspired by, but that thing is not necessarily be a commonplace thing.

The given statement can be analyzed with the help of few examples. Issac Newton's invention of gravitational force, to be the first example, can be considered as a result of common place thing. It is said that he used to sit in a backyard, for his studies. One day, he observed an apple falling from a tree and thought about it, why it would have fell downwards?, why with specific speed?and many other things which led him to the finding of Earth's gravitational field. This example can be considered as a best idea coming from a commonplace thing.

Furthermore, the creation of Facebook like websites comes from a very passionate interest in innovating different ways to connect people. Connecting people easily to talk with each other, can be considered a very commonplace thing, but we have the results, something really great like Facebook, which today connects people all over the world without any boundaries, is the best output anyone can get out of it.

However, best ideas not necessarily come out of interest in very common things, there might be people who are getting involved in very extraordinary things, and while they keep going ahead in their most interested topic research, they may find something which is very useful for common people needs. For example, the invention of microwave. Scientists were experimenting on a Megatron tube when they realized that the heat generated form the microwaves can be safely used to cook food. And there we had, an invention of microwave ovens.

To conclude, it is not always necessary that if a person is interested in something passionately, it needs to be a commonplace thing. There are different aspects which needs to be analyzed before coming to any concrete conclusion about the given claim.