Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People follow leaders because they believe that leaders can lead them to a promising future or results. Before accepting anyone as a leader people do try and check whether the person, who they think, is going to be their leader may or may not be eligible to fulfill their expectations. Once they think that a person expecting to be a leader, is capable of leading a group or ideology , they do have some demands and they do expect that these demands could be fulfilled by their leaders. From all this explanation a point is clear that a leader is selected first, off course with due process, and then their followers have some expectations or demands to be fulfilled by them. Thus the given statement is not completely agreeable that leaders are created by the demands placed on them.

This claim can be further analyzed with the help of some examples. Consider a case of election, lets say election for a senator. Senators are expected to be a leader of a community and represent the community on larger grounds. Do think about a process how a senator is selected, they are selected by the people of the community. Normally, there are more than one nominee for the senate race. They each try to prove themselves as a promising leaders. They, themselves have to study the important issues and problems in the community and they have to propose a draft about how they are going to lead the community in towards a more prosperous way. They need to convince people how effectively they will be able to do it and then on the day of election their fate is decided by the people. Community collectively decides who seems to be more promising to be their leader. Once the leader is selected, people in the community do expect the leader to work towards fulfilling their demands. This scenario shows that followers of any leader only have demands to their leader if the person has shown the ability to be a leader.

Furthermore we, we can consider another scenario where a leader is selected by someone else to lead a group. For example, in a technical firm, employees normally work in teams and effectively they have a team leader to lead them and represent them at a higher authority. In this case, team members do not select a team lead, he or she is selected by higher authorities. To think a little about the procedure how they select a person to lead, they first think about the requirements and check among the available candidates. If they find any promising candidate, they select the respective person as a leader to lead particular team. Now the team members hardly have any idea about hoe the team lead is going to perform as their leader. Even if they do have demands to be satisfied by the leader, for example , team members may wish that their leader understands their issues and try to give them some solutions. In this scenario there are many aspects for a leader to be a leader in real sense. He or she has to fulfill the expectations of higher authorities as well as team members. It totally depends upon the person and his circumstances which makes him a true leader.

As discussed above , if we take in to account the example of a team leader in a technical firm, it can be said that, because the person leading the team is not completely prepared to act as a leader or to lead a group of people in order to be successful in the task assigned to them, it is possible that as the team members do have some expectations form their leader, he or she might try to understand their needs and try to act on them . As a result, after a certain period , the person may become a really efficient leader. In this case, the stated claim can be considered true. But, as we already discussed that whoever getting selected as a leader needs to have some leadership qualities before getting into the job of a leader.

It can be concluded from above mentioned examples that followers of any leader do have some demands, which they expect their leader to fulfill, but it is not necessary that those demands make the person a true leader. At first the person needs to have some leadership qualities and then he or she needs to try to fulfill the demands passed over effectively.