Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Any society needs a set of rules and regulations to keep functioning successfully. Hence, governments have the already set laws as well as they keep adding to the list, new laws, so as to accommodate it's people's best interests. According to the given statement, every individual in a society has the responsibility to follow the set of laws imposed by their governing peoples. It is people's moral responsibility to obey the laws, may they be just or unjust. To decide, whether a law is just or unjust, does totally depend upon the perception of an individual. But to disobey laws which a person feels to be unjust to him or her, can not be the answer. Every governing body has their own reasons to design a set of rules. An individual person may feel a particular law is not in their best interest, but one should keep in mind that rules are designed for everyone. A society includes a large number of people, every law set by authorities can not necessarily be suitable to everyone. Hence, just or unjust, people of the society should first obey the rules and after that if they feel if the particular law is not in their or majority of society's best interest, they should find proper ways to protest and try to change such laws.

As mentioned above, rules and regulations are set after considering best interest of the people. But, the society for which the laws are set, is not limited to a group of people. As the number of people increase in a society, the different set of opinions about good and bad increases. Every individual may have their own perspective about a particular law. For example, the current trending topic in American politics is about it's immigration laws. Few people think existing immigration laws are injustice to the local communities and few other people think about immigration laws on humanitarian grounds and think that these laws are in best interest of America as a country. Now, as per given claim if people who does not agree with this set of laws just disobey and start treating people coming from other countries badly, it will surely create a chaotic situation and a national level tragedy. Of course, people who wants to oppose these laws, may have their own reasons. If these people follow a more better way to put their thoughts as a community to a person representing them and ask the particular person to put forward those explanations further to the proper government channel, they might see at least some favorable changes without disrupting the peace.

Furthermore, governments need to have the balance in the society in order to prosper, hence they need to deliberately design a system of law, which they know will be doing injustice to some people. For example, to allow industrialization near a residential area is of course not in the best interest of the residents but because governing bodies need to consider economical growth of the society as whole, they need to allow growth of industries knowingly, near residential areas. In such scenario, residents of the nearby area can not ask owners of the industries to not build factories their. That would definitely be the wrong way to show opposition to the particular rule. Instead, going through proper channels will always help.

Normally there are ways available to common public to convey their thoughts on the laws which they think are not suitable for them. If there is none, a society should try and develop it, as it is the best way to indicate your opposition to any law, just or unjust as per one's perception. If individuals thought are put forward through proper channel, there are more chances of getting some modifications done in the present law system, or altogether change them, but disobeying them right away can not be a good solution.