A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they “frequently” had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20 percent also reported that they had felt “sad, down, or blue” at least three times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked to depression and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presented here states about a survey in which 250 adults are observed for their number of hours spent online and its effects on their psychology. The author of the statement has provided us with some numbers related to the survey with the help of which a conclusion is drawn that people who spend more time online are much likely to suffer depression. Thus, author makes a general recommendation that if individuals want to improve their health, they should strictly limit their time spent online. Author of this claim has made some assumptions while coming to the conclusion, these assumptions should be thoroughly analyzed in order to come to a solid conclusion.

At first, a recent survey is used as a base to start an argument. The information provided about this survey is limited, for example, it states 250 adults between ages 30 and 45 were included in the survey. It does not state, why people from this age group are considered for the particular survey. Also, it does not give us any information about background of these people, for example, are they male, female, working or non working? Nowadays, one's profession is one of the most important reasons for her to feel depressed. Hence, if author would have mentioned details of the group of people considered for survey, it would have helped to make the argument a little more clear.

Furthermore, while stating the findings of the survey, it is mentioned that adults who spend more than 30 hours online each week, reported that they frequently have trouble concentrating. This number of people is twice with respect to the people who spend less time online each week. Again, we do not have clear idea of the duration of the survey conducted. If it was for the duration of one or two weeks, the conclusion drawn can not be reliable. Also, these people say that they frequently had problems concentrating, how frequently? is not answered here. The frequency could be twice a month or twice a week. To consider this evidence reliable in order to come near to conclusion, all the above mentioned data should be available.

Additionally, the 20 percent adults who have reported they felt "sad,down or blue", are said to have reported this during last one month. As we do not know the survey about which we are discussing is conducted during this month, few weeks before this month or a couple of months before last month. If it was conducted six months ago, and these 20 % people are complaining now, it can not be firmly stated that this effect is because of their being online for longer hours. The author needs to provide more precise information about this assumption.

It can be clearly said from above discussion, to say that the result of the survey indicates, spending too munch time online is linked to depression, the details related to the particular survey needs to be elaborated more