A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they "frequently" had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20% also reported that they had felt "sad, down, or blue" at least three times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked with depression, and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author's view on recent survey conducted on people spending more time online is directly linked to depression and anxiety is misleading in certain ways. The foremost aspect to which the research/survey portrays a sense of being erroneous is that it is done on 250 adults who are of 30 to 45 years old, most of this aged people are working, settled or are less active online. The most active people are younger teenagers and people below or around 25 years old. The people in the lowered age group are mostly online and are used to the latest trends and complexities involving thus this age group should be considered for the survey the most.

The statement has proper set of examples which try to provide support to the claim like " The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that the frequently had trouble concentrating ", but not revealing on why they having problem focusing is it that it is more addicting and they have this certain urge to check their account more frequent or they are still thinking about a specific thing. It also might be the case in which the individual would relate to the online world more than the real world, like having no specific identity online would keep him indulged in area where he/she was interested in but the society mocked at the idea of it.

Moreover, the survey fails to provide proper evidences. The statement focuses on reporting of the adults who felt various things after being online but does not mention anywhere that the specific people who feel blue, down and sad used to feel sad before also. It could be a case where the individual is already nervous and then gets on online just to divert his mind. Hence, if the author did provide an example about people who boycott social media and could feel a change would have increased the chances of the statement being appealing and valid which is far better than only giving statistics on the survey keeping the reader in a blind spot and leaving ambiguous feeling upon the conducted survey.

The paragraph would have been more explicit if proper reasoning or support had been provided. Also, that the survey concludes that people should limit time they spend online rather than restrict. Still the survey allows people to spend some amount of time which explains that the above survey is for a toss as even spending some time might lead to depression is what is stated before in the passage.