A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they “frequently” had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20 percent also reported that they had felt “sad, down, or blue” at least three times within the past month.These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked to depression and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is stated in the argument that people who wanted to enhance their health should limit the time they spend online. They have concluded this based on the survey conducted for 250 adults on basis of reportings on the timings they spend online and the one's who reported they are suffering from depression. However, before this recommendation is evaluated three questions must be answered.

First of all, Do the effect is same for the adults as well as youngsters?In other words does all the people feel similarly? Adults and Youngsters may feel differently while using gadgets-perhaps as the age matters adults can feel more effected even with similar changes and youngsters as they are more active and energetic can feel differently. But the survey is taken only for adults. If the above scenario has merit then the conclusion drawn in the original argument, is significantly weakened.

Secondly, Do the adults come from different places for survey? Or is it conducted among small region? The argument does not provide any evidence or do not mention anything about the location. If the people are from same location there might be other factors as well for the depression like climatic conditions, sounds and pollution around etc. The argument prematurely assumes that it is same for all the localities.

Thirdly, Do all the people who spend more than 30 hours online suffer with depression? There are people who do not suffer with concentration problems irrespective of spending more than 30 hours online. Even there are people who are suffering from depression from the category who spend less time online. So this is vaguely represented. As the survey is conducted for just 250 adults the high number who fall under depression as well as spending time online can merely be coincident.

In conclusion, this argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions. If the above three questions were answered and offers more evidence will be possible to evaluate its viability of recommending to limit the time people spend online.