Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

The author is trying to convey about the decline in number of teenage volunteers declining. The Pleasantville High School wants the students to learn more about community service and giving to others. Thus the Pleasantville School Board has come up with a rule that requires a student to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation and is mandatory. This overall portrays a sense of proper child grooming steps which should be taken by a school but, the rule made for it is invalid or could be termed as harsh for some individuals.

The rule creates a negative impact upon the student as it is forcing them to do things against there will. It is a proven theory by psychologists that a person who is told to refrain himself from a doing specific task has an increased urge to do that task. Hence, it is advised to regulate stuff at a good note like, school can provide benefits to those students who have completed a certain hours of community services. The person completing the service could also been awarded through increasing his/her grades.

Also, the volunteers who participate will be given more recognition and will be appreciated through the school during ceremonies. This indirectly creates a sense of gratitude amongst the students which will lead to increase in students taking part in volunteering. So after feeling related to the program more students who had already taken part in the progrm would encourage other students who were not considering to take part in it.

Moreover, the school body should conduct a seminar for the parent to explain them in encouraging the students in taking part in service. The seminar should include the benefits so that while at home the parents can talk out similar stuff to their children. This coming from the parents about the service will denote that it is beneficial, and he/she would consider joining. Also, the students can independently discuss the reasons of not joining.

To conclude, the Pleasantville School Board should survey the reason as to why the students are not willing to join. It might be that it is due to the cumbersome homework and assignments given to them or any event is nearby on the very date.