Claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

The given statement states that due to the increase in content writing on internet there will be vague and similar written articles which will be a prominent factor for the decrease in professional content writing. It is appealing claim provided by the author with a valid reason which clears the doubt for a person not familiar with blogosphere.

The term "blogosphere" is used to describe the latest trend for writing on a topic and posting it online. Any common individual can post online without verification and how educated he/she might be. This increases the chance for repetition, rumors, adding of personal information which is to stand out and also this adds up to a complete different story than what has happened. The is also a way in which certain people try to get famous, through plagiarized material collected from standard sources and mixing it all together and posting under their name.

Moreover, it also leads to loss of actual talent : such as someone who is way more good at covering topics and writing on them will in the end get covered up in all the naive publishers. He might increase his quality of writing but would get into a copy content mess or divert his mind to something else. This does no benefit to the publishing industry also as they require prime content writers but evaluating them can be a hefty task for the companies like a needle in the hay stack.

However, rise in the amount of online publishers also increases the number of opinion on a specific topic. It also establishes publishers who have been working hard before and are trying there best to get recognized out in the world. Also people of different country get to access certain information like places which are generally visited by localities, rich cultural and heritage places and which can improve tourism.

Hence the claim mentioned by the author has its benifits and disadvantages, this trend would decrease as the time prevails as for now the concept of it is new/fresh. Thus only good content writers would continue with posting online.