There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As we all can agree, the everyday changes in our life does have impact on everything else on our planet . We all have learned in school the interdependence of all the living systems on each others . If we consider that, we all need to survive together in order to be able to survive longer and have a good life balance. To support this idea, it definitely becomes necessary to try and save endangered plant and animal species. But as the given argument says, doing it at a great cost may or may not be advisable at all times. It may depend upon circumstances, and should be decided accordingly. Hence, adopting the given claim effectively needs further scrutiny. As it is important to save endangered species, how much of it can be achieved in reality depends upon the respective circumstances.

To analyze implementation of given recommendation, we can discuss it with the help of some examples. Lets consider a case in which there is a small village which is situated by a wildlife reserve which has very important species if birds in it. And these species are out of the very few remaining in the world. This village is totally depends upon the tourism for economic gains. If the villagers gets a chance in which someone offers them a lot of money ,new jobs and help to prosper their tourism business, but in return of some land out of this wildlife reservoir, how they should react totally depends upon their need of economic help. The sell of land may cause harm to the endangered bird species, but the proposed business plan helps the economy of the village , it can be suggested that villagers should opt for accepting business offer. This scenario helps to better understand that, that decision of opting for endangered species at a cost of huge economic loss depends upon circumstances.

There is another case which could be helpful here, the white tigers are mainly found in east India. Now they are almost at the edge of vanishing from the list of living animals on our planet. Government of India is trying to put some efforts in order to save the last few animals of this species. But as India is a developing country, they might not support this campaign economically. In this case, there are some NGOs who appeal people all over the world to help and support this effort to save white tigers. As per the given statement, it might be difficult to make extraordinary efforts by some individual or a group of people, but if such efforts are taken on large scale and everybody supports a little, it can be successful at a very low cost .

There are people in the society who thinks caring for the species who are going to elope from the environment should not be given that much importance, as it does not effect our day to day life directly. But in order to keep balance in the nature system, every living species, may it be a plant or animal or human, is important. But as human life is growing more critical to live day by day , it becomes more difficult to care for each and every endangered species in the world. So to adopt given recommendation depends upon the situation, place and people. It is difficult to agree or disagree with the given statement.