Claim: The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is true that the trend of social media over past few decades has risen very fast. People do use it for any purpose, sometimes good, sometimes bad. Effectively, not only political but social environment in the society is also getting affected. Most of the countries have freedom of speech in their basic laws, which allows citizens to freely put forward their views. Nowadays, as social media is easily available to anyone, anywhere people use it as their platform to put forward their opinions on any topic they want. This trend surely affects the news coverage in general as news channels incline towards more trending topics to increase their channel's ratings.

To discuss further, we can consider a recent example of 2016 American election getting affected because of other countries trying to manipulate voters using social media as their platform. Social media is easily available to everyone and anywhere, and most of the times, such platforms does not verify the person who is behind any particular post. Because of this, since last two years, an investigation is going on and it keeps trending for various issues, all the time. As a result, people are more interested in these news, and news channels mostly cover this news instead of covering other more important issues, national or international. In this scenario, it can be clearly said that because of vast use of social media, may be from good intentions or bad intentions but it is affecting current political news coverage in America.

Furthermore, it is acceptable that common public has got a major platform to opine on any issue they feel most important for themselves, many a times the topic any individual is covering is not at all important, but because few people make it a trending topic, it gets picked by news channels. A recent example of this is, one politician, running for office, was told in a rally by the supporters of his rally that his political opponent seems more confident and dashing because of his looks. The other day a video of that politician looking at the photo of his opponent went viral, and eventually news media was covering it as a main topic.

However, social media has not always proved itself responsible for chaotic situations in news coverage, there are examples which shows us, before availability of such platforms, there used to be same level of crimes, only very less number of people used to know it. For example, recently trending Me too movement. The harassment is there in every industry for long period, but because it is easier to put forward your opinion about it, most of the people are coming out and telling their stories, making people aware of such hideous crimes. This has been possible because of availability of social media as a platform. But at the same time, not everyone uses it wisely, which makes its negative effects weigh more if you start comparing it with positive effects.

It is clear that increased use of social media has affected important political news coverage in a negative way. It also can not be denied that a sensible use of social media as a platform can help achieve major goals to a society, but it is near impossible as it is dependent on each and every persons thinking, how he or she is going to use their online platform.