The best ideas arise from a passionate

interest in commonplace things.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the statement above and explain your

reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should consider

ways in which the statement might or might not

hold true and explain how those considerations

shape your position.

I think that the best ideas arose from a passionate interest in commonplace things in earlier times, but in our current time period, I believe that the best ideas arise from a passionate interest in unique things or topics that go beyond just ordinary or day to day use. Therefore, I disagree with the statement.

Long ago and now, the main three commonplace things a person needs are food, shelter, and water. The cultivating of crops, building structures out of clay and wood, and the invention of wells or collecting rainwater are all examples of the best ideas of their day. They were extremely useful in surviving. However, the best ideas now in the 21st century come from unique inventions that an everyday person may not specifically need or think of, but it can come in handy for a large group of people. For example, we can think of the advancement of medicine or an expansion of a research project.

There are some serious diseases that a percentage of the population may get in their life, but not something every single person will get. The group of people who made that medicine to treat these people who are diagnosed with this certain disease were not passionate about ordinary things, but were probably passionate about specific topics like science and health. Others in society may have questioned them and thought they were crazy for trying to come up with this cure or treatment.

Another example of the best ideas arising from a passionate interest in something unique is a research project thought of by a graduate student and their professor. I work for two graduate students currently who are extremely passionate about bats (yes the flying mammals). Their interests to me are definitely not commonplace and some people would think they are nuts for working with bats. However, this is what they care about as well as other bat researchers. Some of these researchers are focusing on White-nose Syndrome which is a disease killing off many populations of bats. They would be stoked if they found a new idea to help bats combat this disease. Others may not consider this to be a huge win, but bats provide many ecosystem services and some species are essential for the things we have today.

Overall, I think that the first civilizations absolutely had the best ideas built upon commonplace things that were essential to everyday life. However, in our current time period, I think the best ideas arise from passions in unique or not as widely used things.