As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

For me, technology has always felt like a double-edged sword. While it has allowed for many advancements in the world and has made more efficient ways of doing things, I strongly believe that it is at risk of cutting out peoples ability to think for themselves. I believe thinking for yourself means you are creative, able to formulate new ideas and share ideas with a group, and think critically to solve a problem. With technology always at the palm of your hand and easily accessible, sometimes it can be easier to “cheat” your way through. For example, I think of Autocorrect, equation generators, and social media as ways of dumbing down or reshaping our society.

I have always thought of myself as being a decent speller and someone who avoids grammatical errors. However, I have noticed a change and throughout this essay you might find several errors. With Autocorrect on iphones, I find that I know how to spell fewer words. By just typing in the first few letters, an option or shortcut pops up guessing what you are trying to spell. Without the full motion of spelling a word out, I feel like it decreases your ability to spell that word. Use it or lose it situation. When it comes to typing essays, one usually uses a word document on computer or laptop. It basically feels like you have an English teacher right there guiding you; alerting you when something is spelled wrong or if the sentence is worded poorly.

Taking Calculus I in college was a challenge for me. It was the first time seeing equations and word problems like that. So for my homeworks I tended to try and take shortcuts by using equation generators through Google. This meant overall I did not learn anything and did terribly on the exams. Lesson learned. I took the class again, but this time saw my TA almost every other day asking for help. She went through step by step making it so simple and easy. I made an A that time around and was super proud of my accomplishment.

I personally have no social media. I am not a fan of knowing what someone else is doing at all times or care what a celebrity did to another celebrity. Throughout the day on campus I see countless people on their phones looking at a Twitter post or Instagram picture. They are usually comparing their lives to others and tryng to change into whatever they believe society wants them to be like. It doesn’t allow for individuality anymore. Conforming is a problem and people are less likely to think for themselves but instead think how they think society wants.

Those three examples support my opinion in that technology is decreasing the ability for humans to think for themselves. One may argue the other way and I would understand that. The fact that so much technology exists means that someone out there had to create that new idea and use trial and error. However, I believe that is a small number of people. The elite researchers and inventors are definitely being creative, sharing ideas, and thinking critically. Majority of society however, uses technology as a means of using a shortcut in life. While it can help in the short term, in the long term I think it will hurt them.

Overall, I think the advancement of technology has allowed people to become lazier, Why not use the easiest way possible to get to a solution? Because it can come at a great cost. You are using the easy way out, which decreases your ability to come up with original thoughts or think critically through a problem. Through autocorrect and word processors I cannot spell as well. Through Google, I can take an easy way to solve a problem but don’t learn anything in the long run. Lastly, if I had social media I think I would care more about conforming and what society thinks of me than focusing on individuality.