As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Time and time again my parents have told me how our society does not know how to think for ourselves because we rely on technology too much to gave us all the answers. I agree with them. I think the dependence on technology nowadays is decreasing a person’s ability to think for themselves. For me, thinking for yourself involves having the ability to think creatively, have independent thoughts, bounce around ideas with other peers, and think critically. With technology there for you at a touch of a button, you can easily use Google to research anything you want, which can knock out the need for you to have an original thought or communicate with others in person for ideas.

On the other hand, it is true that technology has brought many advances. It allows for humans to be more efficient, have a longer lifespan, and communicate with those far and wide. Some may say that the advancement of technology is never ending; therefore, you must always be creatively thinking and critically thinking when making adjustments to a program or advancing the ability of what a cell phone can do. I think this is definitely true to an extent. The small group of highly qualified inventors and researchers are certainly creatively and critically thinking when testing new equipment or technology. They are using past knowledge and applying new ideas they thought of on their own. However, this is the small group of people and not the majority of people.

From my observation, the majority of people use technology to snoop on some else’s social media or watch the latest episode uploaded to Netflix. For example, when I am on the bus at my University I see many uses of technology. The bus itself is fantastic technological transportation advancement. However, most of the people on the bus have their eyes glued to their phone. Looking up what a celebrity is doing on social media or sending pictures to a friend.

Overall, technology is a double-edged sword. It can be used for good in expanding your knowledge like when you need to research articles when typing up an essay for class; oppositely it can be used negatively by making you lazy and not have to think for yourself.