The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for

The author of the statement belives that the best way to know if an argument is true is to see if the people with opposing viewpoints would finilly agree with the argument and change their minds. I believe this viewpoint has many defects and I don't think this factor should be considered as the best test of an argument.

First, in some cases the peaple who think an argument is wrong might never be convinced to change their minds because of their lack of knowledge or simply because they are too stobern to admit they are wrong. For example, back when the electricity and electric power was being developed was about to be replaced with energy of fire, there were a big argument between Tesla and Edison about what current should be used for electic power of cities which is known as "the war of currents". Eventhough Tesla's point of view which was to use the alternating current was both mathematically and experimentaly proven, however, since back in those days Edison was a much more famuse person and people did not have enough knowledge to understand the Tesla's point of view, no one would agree with him. So for years, goverment tried to use DC current to power the city which became an unsuccessful project. So as you can see the abliity to convice others is not a good factor for proving the truth of an argument.

Furthermore, some people can be very persuacive and state a convincing argument and make the people with opposing viewpoints change their viewpoint even if they are the ones who have the better viewpoin. For instance, I remmeber back was in highschool, one time, teacher gave us an assignment and grouped us to analyse and discuss about a mechanical system and tell him the number of degrees of freedom the system had. At first I had the right answare but after disscussing my idea with a member in our group he convinced me that his idea which was very different from mine was the answare. So as you can see, since I was too easily conviced my view point which was the better one was not considered.