The best way of preparing our future leaders is by instilling in them the sense of cooperation.

Societies are built through cooperation. In all the animal kingdom, the individuals of gregarious species work together to obtain food, build shelters and protect their home. Humans are not an exception to this. Through all our evolution, the social component has been an intrinsic part in the process of defining us as species. Is only natural to assume that the best way of preparing our future leaders is by instilling in them the sense of cooperation. However, what if a sane sense of competition is also part of what defines a leader?

Many of our advances in sciences, technology or politics has been made through cooperation. Science benefits in a great deal of cooperation and the sustained efforts of many. There has been a myriad of discoveries that were only possible to the united work of many individuals, like the quantum mechanics, the electronic microscope or the airplanes. This cooperation extents not only to directly working together, but also to the shared knowledge that a lot of people has brought in through the ages.

Politics is also not outside of this reality. The works of many philosophers, lawyers and theorists is what has made possible the development of our current government system. The Senate, Congress, the figure of the President and the Constitution, are all the results of intelligent men working together. Our current social gains are also the fruits of centuries of struggle against oppression and tyranny.

Considering the above, one can ask then, what possible benefit can competition bring to the human kind? Isn't competition what inspires the worse feelings in ourselves, what causes us to fight with one each other? Terrible wars have been fought because of nations competing for natural resources and political influence, proving that competition is a negative trait in ourselves.

But what if this is not necessarily true? Even though is true that competition is almost always a negative thing, a little of it is a good thing. In our current state of evolution, humanity still needs a little incentive to progress. Many of our scientific discoveries, while the result of teamwork, were made under the pressure of competition. The nuclear reactors, the radar, the jet planes were all made possible in a great extent because there was a war, and the motivation of getting them before the enemy did it served as a big incentive for the teams working on them.

Same thing could be said from our political structures. The democratic models of government in the Ancient Greece and Rome were the big winners in a competition between the old kingdom structures and the new forms of government that the newly emerged dominant classes needed to truly exert their power. The French Revolution, with its model of Liberty, Equality and Fraternity, was nothing but the result of the competition between the ancient aristocratic order and the new bourgeois class. So, it could be said, that the incentive of competition has played also an important part in our progress.

Our future leaders do need to be instilled with the sense of cooperation, as it is through teamwork that we express our social nature. However, a little of incentive from measured competition it is also necessary at the current stage of our society, as a mean of paving the way of our progress and make evolution go a bit faster.