The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend."Of the two leading real estate firms in our town-Adams Realty and Fitch Realty-Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument presented concludes that the Adams firm is clearly superior to Fitch, based in a series of assumptions as speed of selling, number of employees and revenues amount. However, the basis for this conclusions needs examination, as it doesn't seem independent from the author's subjectivity.

First, it is assumed that the number of people employed is a valid indicator, implicitly saying that a bigger company is synonym of success. this is not necessarily true,as the author is merely assuming that these extra 15 employees are sales people. they could be as well doing clerical jobs, in which case they would be more of an indicator of lack of efficiency.

assuming that these 15 extra people are actively selling, that could easily explain adams' superior earning. In that case, it seems unfair to compare two companies that are not in the same tier. It would be more balanced to compare firms that have the same or similar number of employees, in which case the conclusion would be more founded.

Secondly, the speed of the selling process per se does not indicate success. The author doesn't clarify at any point the state of preservation, location or price of the homes he sold through both realty companies. The sell through adams could have gone faster simply because that house was in a better zone, was cheaper or needed fewer repairs that the one he advertised through Fitch. Once more, it is not an valid basis for concluding that one firm is superior to the other.

If we were extend more on this, Adams' superior sales could also be explained because they focus on easy sales in just a narrow sector of the market. In the long-term, this could be a bad strategy as the lack of options that this signifies could lead to market saturation, with an eventual decrease in the number of sales. Fitch could be betting in a more ample market, in which case the potential for growth seems more assured.

The conclusion presented in the text has the flaw of being forced, as the arguments are not entirely objective. The author made a number of assumptions, some of them unfair, leaving out factors that could actually point to opposite results in this analysis.