The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town-Adams Realty and Fitch Realty-Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This letter recommends Adams Realty over its competitor Fitch based on its larger scale, better business success and an anecdote of fast selling with Adams. It makes multiple assumptions that are unwarranted, which threatens the validity of this recommendation.

First of all, the author's assumption that their own experiences with Adams and Fitch are representative of an average person's experience is unwarranted. They assumed that the two selling experiences that happened 9 years apart are directly comparable, and hence are telling for the service quality of the two firms. However, many extraneous factors apart from their service can differ in the two scenarios. For example, the two homes the author sold could be of extremely varied attractiveness to the market. Therefore, their anecdote does not guarantee that the friend would sell their home faster if they choose Adams over Fitch.

Secondly, the author makes the assumption that the agents in the two companies operate at the same efficiency, which is not necessarily true. The author uses the higher number of employee and their higher working hours at Adams to support their claim that the friend would get a faster and better deal. However, there is no correlation between employee number and the total amount of effort, as the Fitch's agents may have a higher efficacy, and hence get a better job done within a shorter time. Especially considering the fact that Fitch achieved a comparable home sales to Adams with only half of the employee. Therefore, the friend may not get more attention or better service from Adams, even if they outnumber Fitch with their total working hours.

Lastly, the author's claim that homes listed with Adams sell at a better price is based on the assumption that a higher revenue means higher individual price, which is problematic. Nowhere in the letter provides convincing support for a good individual home price with Adams. Although Adams' revenue is higher than Fitch, it can be a result of a higher number of homes sold, rather than a higher individual price. The friend will not necessarily get a better price for their home if they choose Adams over Fitch.

Therefore, the recommendations outlined in this letter are often built upon unreliable assumptions that need further support with evidence. The author needs to sustain the generalisability of their anecdote, the equal work efficiency of each individual staff member from the two companies, as well as the better price at which each individual home is sold with Adams.