The following appeared as a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

“Of the two leading real estate firms in our town-Adams Realty and Fitch Realty-Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents: in contrast,Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams’ revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch’s $144,000.Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty”

The writer of this analytical piece has drawn an conclusion with a very few amount of statistical data and overlooking the positive aspects of Fitch Realty firm compared to the Adams Realty firm.

Firstly, the homeowner stated that the Adams realty is superior. Homeowner might have failed to add the basis of superiority. Adams Realty is superior but in which context? It can be superior in dealing with customers or it may be superior in selling many schemes compared to the Fitch Realty. There is a lack of evidence and ample of assumption by the homeowner, which results into the fallacy.

Next, homeowner has given a data of the workers at both the firms. Irrespective of the quantity of the workers, the development is a result of the efficiency and quality of the workers. It may be possible that 40 employees working at the Adams Realty firm for full time completes equal work compared to the 25 employees, working part time at the Fitch Realty. The efficiency depends on many factors such as the ambience at the office, the leadership and group formations and may be the ability of the employees. This does not directly implies the conclusion which homeowner has stated. homeowner has failed to describe the external factors affecting the employees during their work.

In addition, homeowner has analyzed the revenue of both the firms which shows a major difference in both the firms. There are many factors related with the revenue of a firm. The number of applications at the firm is not mentioned. What if there are more number of customers at the Adams Realty compared to the Fitch Realty. Had it been the same number of customers, the statistical data tends to support the conclusion. But there was no mention of any such data, which weakens the homeowner conclusion as the homeowner may not have covered all the aspects.

homeowner compared the two firms at different interval of time. He/She shared his/her personal experience at both the firms but one experience was 10 years ago and another experience is just a year ago. There is a large difference of the time and there is no information about Adams Realty firm 10 years ago. In addition to that, homeowner is even unaware of the efficiency of the selling homes at Fitch Realty the previous year. There is no measurable data as both the experience occurred at different time. This can not support the conclusion as there is no common ground for this fact.

The conclusion stated by the homeowner that if one want to sell the home quickly and at a good price, one should approach to Adams Realty firm, does not clearly supported by the premises covered by him. There are so many flaws and lack of assumptions which clearly negates the homeowner’s point of view and directly attacks the conclusion.