Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

There is a well known saying in the field of science, ‘your knowledge of the world can be seen as an expanding circle.’ The more you know, the more you’ll realize you don’t know. We must not be afraid of unknown. Expanding our understanding of the world and revealing the unknown complexity are two critical roles of science that complement each other like Yin and Yang, growing from each other and enhancing each other.

Realising our lack of understanding to the complexity of the world is the very first step to asking a good research question. No scientific research ever came from a complacent and satiated mind that overlook the gaps in our current knowledge. Discovering an important gap in our understanding of the world and asking the right question is as important as if not more than the actual laborious process of seeking the answer. If Galileo had not realised the complexity of universe beyond the explanation of an earth-centred world, there would not be rapid expansion of knowledge in the field of astronomy. Another example is that by revealing the limitation of classical Newtonian physics and realising the complexity unexplained by it, the field of physics is revolutionized by the foundation of the study of quantum physics. This will not be possible if scientists have not first realised the mysterious intricacy involved in the movement of particles.

Science discoveries also never cease to expand our understanding of the world surrounding us. By answering endless research questions, we started to unravel the complexity associated with our own body with the study of physiology and neuroscience, our interaction with the society with psychology, our interactions with the environment with ecology and environmental science. This curiosity does not satiate itself, and our mind is not ever replete with knowledge. Existing findings inspire us to pin-point gaps in knowledge and ask more informed questions which again await answers. They also prompt us to see the connections between disciplines, and propose interesting question on a larger scope. Currently, we can be quite confident with our understanding of the basic principals in chemistry, yet by applying this thorough knowledge to biology, a new field of protein engineering is created.

It is crucial for a researcher to understand and embrace the circle of life of science. A question leads to an answer, which nurtures 10 other questions. This is how science grow, and this is exactly why science never strops growing.