Some people believe that our ever-increasing use of technology significantly reduces our opportunities for human interaction. Other people believe that technology provides us with new and better ways to communicate and connect with one another.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

From the invention of telephones, cell phones, to the popularization of internet, video-conferencing tools and the social media, technology never ceases to revolutionize the way we communicate and form connections. It has enabled us to communicate more effectively in more diverse ways than our ancestors can ever imagine.

Technology has increased the efficiency of teamwork enormously. With internet an essential feature of an office nowasdays, it is hard for us to imagine working and collarborating in the era before email, video conferencing and instant messaging. Technology has enabled the convenient and instantaneous exchange of information, accelerating the communication between co-workers. Innovative applications such as Slack aims to simplify workplace communication by centralizing group messaging, calendar and file sharing within a team. The career-focused social network Linked-in also allow professionals to connect with others in the field more easily than ever. Clever communication method like this would not have become commonplace practices without technology.

Technology has also revolutionized how we engage with friends and family, especially those who live far away. Social media and instant messages allow our loved ones to participate in our life, even when they are not physically with us. Technology companies work diligently to improve their product to encompass more meaningful aspects of human interactions. New features such as facebook's memory share add an unexpectedly sweet twist to the social media, encouraging users to look back at cherished memories with loved ones.

Some may worry that increasing technology will reduce our opportunity to engage with people in our immediate surroundings. To be sure, the use of phones and social media can sometimes get quite addictive and become a barrier to communication scenario. However, this worry is ungrounded. As a tool, technology breaks down the barirer of time and distance, and allows us to constantly connect to the ones we want to connect with. If technology has become a barrier to communication, it could mean that the person has not chosen to communicate with you over their friends on the other end of the phone, at this certain instance.

As argued above, technology has granted us more diverse and efficient ways to communicate, rather than preventing it.