The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Just as leadership emcompasses a multitude of valued qualities and a variety of leadership styles, the fostering of leadership in young people does not follow one universal rule. It is not the instillation of a sense of cooperation or competition only that benefits a young person's endeavour to become a leader, but a precious ability to achieve a balance of the two.

The sense of cooperation obviously proves to be ever more valuable in today's world, as greater goals often involves a synergic effort from multiple parties. The apparently cliched saying 'no man is an island' still holds true, especially in the world of leaders. As the division of labour became clearer and more specialised, in government, industry or even research, no one expects a leader to be an all-mighty superhero who achieves everything on their own. Instead, a leader is someone who masters the art of delegating tasks and bringing together the forces of able and motivated people.

Nowadays, not only do leaders need to cooperate within a supportive team, they often also need to actively engage with their enemies. The sense of cooperation, manifested in the ability to see a common ground, is an important one to instill in the future leaders. For example, as a political leader, you often need to persuade senates from marginal camps to stand by your bill. This cannot be achieved by alienating them but rather through appealing to the commonground between your apparently distinct stance. In the process of social progress, compromises often have to be made to achive anything remotely productive. If a leader neglect to reach commonground with their opponents, serious consequences may follow. For example, in overthrowing a dictatorship, by establishing the dictator as unredeemably evil with no room for cooperation, the leader may exacerbate the situation by affirming the dictator's will to resist and not resign, as they do not see a safe ending after conceding.

Despite its importance, the sense of cooperation is far from the only thing a leader needs. Often getting to the position of leadership involves fierce competition between ambitious and powerful peers. It would be naive to insist on collaboration with each and every one of your competitors. A leader needs to remain vigilant and confident in his behaviour, and be mentally prepared for competition, in order to win. A sense of competition entails keen awareness of the rule and the desire to reach the pinnacle in a field, both of which are key to becoming a leader.

Moreover, competition can have hugely positive impact in a person's performance. Research found cyclists performing better in competition with others than when practicing by themselves, without even realizing it. Being surrounded by highly motivated peers who strive for the best often encourage individuals in the group to excel, given said individuals have a sense of competition. It helps young leaders to maintain a positive mentality towards stressful competing situations that they are bound to encounter on their way to leadership.

As argued above, both the sense of cooperation and competition are necessary in one's journey to become a leader and to be an accomplished leader. Most importantly, a skill to adequately employ either in appropriate situation is vita