The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Since industrial revolution, technology has revolutionized our life in ways unthinkable for the previous generations. The most striking change it brings is arguably the accelerating pace of life. Although this acceleration arises as a solution to many difficult problems, it also creates new challenges and exacerbating many ungoing problems for the human race.

Increasingly rapid pace of life results from the myriad barriers in life being overcome by technology. Distance, the barrier to communication and trade that stalls the development of some regions indefinitely, is overcome with the invention of automobile, aircraft, telephone, and eventually internet. With faster and faster means of commmunication, it is obvious that technology has enabled inhabitants of remote regions to exchange information with the rest of the world more conveniently than ever before. This accelerated the social and economical development of many regions, lifting the locals out of poverty, allowing them access to better education and quality of life.

The rapid exchange of information, however, is not without perils. Many developing societies face intense loss of their traditional values and cultures. Since the information exchange becomes so mercilessly rapid, unfiltered ideas can bombard and overwhelm the fragile society, creating enormous gap between generations, as well as emerging social conflict and identity crisis. For example, many young people in the developing Chinese society abandoned the traditional virtues of piety or humility, being constantly inmersed in the consumerism culture created by the rapid international trade.

Apart from creating new challenges, there are ongoing problems in life exacerbated by the rapid pace of life. For example, the balance between work and family has always been an intricate one. The accelerated pace and increased ease at which one can finish work nowadays can snowball into a work frenzy. One can be physically at home, yet still reachable by colleages via phone messages and email. The limited energy one can spare for family becomes even more heavily consumed by speedy communication from work.

As discussed above, the acceleration of pace in life brings about positive changes, but poses more challenges that we need to actively address.