GRE Powerprep - Super Screen

The advertising director of the Super Screen movie company argued for a greater share of the company's budget to be dedicated to advertising, based on their belief that the reason for low attendance for Super Screen movies is that customers are unaware of the excellence of these movies, as confirmed by reviewers. This argument is flawed, as a few questions await to be answered in order for the claims in the memo to be sustained.

To begin with, it is questionable whether the reviewers' predilections for a film correlate with its popularity within the general public. Not only are reviewers unlikely to be a representative sample of the local population, their typical likings for arthouse movies with often convoluted plot and meanings do not necessarily align with the public. There are plenty of internationally acclaimed films that do not get appreciated by most people. Therefore, it is unreasonable to expect good reviews to transfer into better sales.

Secondly, it is worth investigating whether the quality of movie is a deterministic factor for whether the customers of Super Screen choose to buy the tickets. By assuming reaching more customers with the excellent reviews will necessarily increase sales, the author neglected other important factors such as price, location, screen time and deals. These factors could potentially be more cost-effective to tackle, if they play a more important role in channeling the desirable attitude of customers' to their desirable purchasing behaviour.

Lastly, the question of whether an extensive monetary investment in advertising is essential for conveying the good reviews to the customers effectively needs to be addressed. Sometimes, a simple alteration in advertising strategy is sufficient to sway customers, which may not even cost more than the original strategy. By equating greater share of budget to more effective advertisement, the director fails to ask the correct question and overlooks the possibility of wasting increased budget due to an inappropriate marketing strategy.

As explained above, the claims made by the author remains unwarranted unless these questions are adequetly answered. The relationship between reviewers' and public opinion, the relationship between liking a film and going to a film, and the relationship between monetary investment and efficacy are critical to the author's argument, and do not seem as simple as presented in this memo.