As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

From mobile gadgets to internet-based services, humans have become more dependent upon technology than ever before. Although the technology never ceases to make our life more convenient, and we tend to liberate our brains with the chore of memorizing or calculating, it is unreasonable to assume our ability to solve problems, to philosophize and to create would necessarily be endangered as a result of technological advancement.

With the development of technology, our brains inevitably become less trained in low-level tasks such as calculation or memorization. The once-mandatory ability to read a map has been replaced by the use of highly accessible GPS. Just like how the ability to judge directions from the stars at night used to be critical for survival, but now has become little more than a peripheral life hack. While some may argue this harms our ability to think for ourselves, I think liberating our minds from the tiring daily low-level functions exactly enhances our ability to think about other more involved ideas. For example, Einstein does not bother with remembering the numerous speed of light, since it could be find anywhere, and frees his brain for the more demanding job of revolutionize the field of physics. The invention of virtual composing software such as garage band made the creation of music an accessible job for more aspiring musicians who may not be able to afford a whole set of musical instruments before. As technologies become more widespread and take care of the low level thinking for us, more brilliant minds could be emancipated and thence able to focus on more interesting thinking.

Moreover, the worry that our brain would run out of challenges to solve is unwarranted. Although technology has solved myriads problems in the world, humans are never content that the current life is perfect enough. The development of technology empowers human to envision better things to life, and to further advance the capability of technology. For example, without the invention of internet, no one would have dared to imagine the existence of a social network that spans the globe, connecting like-minded individuals from different continents in no time. The creation of Facebook then uncover some other ethical and philosophical debates regarding privacy, social boundaries and censorship. We cannot take it for granted how much technology has expanded our life's possibilities, providing more challenges than ever before for us to ponder upon.

For the reasons stated above, although the dependence on technology will likely deteriorate our ability to perform low level computations and information storage, it ultimately liberates our mind for higher thinking, philosophizing and creating, rather than endangers its ability for these wonderful things