The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds

Ever since the industrial revolution, human has started lending increasingly more complex jobs to machines. First physical work like manufacturing with precision, followed by low-level mental work such as calculation and memory storage, and now with the blooming field robot research and development, we create machines that can think for themselves. Are machines ever going to exceed the mental capability of a human mind? In many ways, it is highly probably. However, there are unique qualities of human mind that will remain superior to machine.

The rapidly emerging innovations in the field of robot research and development never cease to leave the general public in awe. Any task with exhaustative options that can be computerised in algorithms, from cleaning the floor to cooking, from assisting in services to performing complex calculations, we can make powerful machines that achieve them with ease. Even the perceived pinnacle of human intelligence, the ancient game of Go, has its world champion defeated by AlphaGo, a machine invented by Google. AlphaGo is capable of sharpening its skills with each game it plays, using deep learning, a skill previously thought to be the priviledge of a human mind. With self-learning ability, the sky's the limit for what a machine can potentially do. And it is conceivable a machine's thinking capability will soon exceeds that of human in many fields, given its powerful computation power that is far superior to that of a human brain.

Although it is expected that machines will outperform humans in myriad realms, there remains things unique to human minds that a machine will be unlikely to achieve. The greatest limitation to machine is anything with infinitive or fluid options. For example, human brain is hardwired to extrapolate linguistic features or emotive responses from birth. Even the most undeveloped mind of baby's could actively seek out opportunities to learn and abstract the situations it encounters, and thence form its own abstract generalisable rule. Human brain needs not have heard a sentence to be able to generate it, and it needs not to have been in a certain situation to be able to respond emotionally to it in an appropriate manner. These things trivial and natural to a humanbeing are very difficult for machines.

Moreover, the ability to independently philosophize, create and invent is unique to human. Any machine is a creation by human for human afterall, and it tends to only serve the purpose that a human gives it. However, as free-living beings, human minds seek meanings to life and never cease to strive for brilliant new creations. For example, a machine can be encoded to write alright poems, paint alright pictures, but it can hardly create anything powerful from its own experience, full of its own emotions, which inspires and revolutionizes the field. Could a machine have created the school of Impressionism, written the Hamlet, or invented a theory that explains the way capitalism and society function? The brilliant human mind excel in these fields constantly, bringing unique beauty to our life with independent thinking.

With the reasons discussed above, I am optimistic that machines will become ever more powerful with the development in algorithms, but human brains will certainly remain superior in many fields.