Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers

The author stated that educational institutions should actively encourage students to select fields of study that will prepare them for profitable careers. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time, while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight negative the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

Educational institutions play a major role in shaping the career of its students. The more successful students are in their career the better the growth opportunities and a great future which in turn proves out to be useful for the society, the country they are residing in one way or another. Hence, it is a prime role of the educational institutions to guide the students on choosing a perfect field of study.

Now the question is whether the education institutions actively encourage their students to choose those fields that have a lucrative career or they should not encourage them. The answer to the question is No because this will affect the interests of the students. By doing this institutes will dissuade the student from pursuing a career of their choice, a choice which they living from the last few years. Another reason for disagreement is that the continuous availability of these so-called lucrative jobs or careers in particular fields of study is not certain. What if till the time the students complete their degree the demand on that particular field in which they graduate decreased exponentially. Then, this will be deleterious for the student and also the main agenda of the institutes will fail.

However, there is another question that is what if a student has no idea about what he wants to do in life or which subjects should he choose. In this case instead of encouraging the student to take the fields with a good career, what institute can do is that they should counsel them and help them in finding what will be good for them and their career. I think this would be very beneficial for those students who are clueless about their future.

In nutshell, we can say that choosing a field that has a lucrative career is not a bad idea, but these fields should not impose on the student if they have some other plans or interests. Instead of imposing, the best option will counsel them.