Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts

The statement argues that some people believe, that to ensure arts can flourish the government should provide funding to it, while others counter this by saying that this will threatens the integrity of the arts. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning to it.

The subject of government funding of the arts is a debatable issue and highly sensitive to the specifics of the country in mind, for example, in a country like Pakistan, where the economic condition is so bad that they have to take a loan of $6 billion dollars from IMF and if they start providing funds to the arts instead on focus on infrastructure, education and economy then they will fail as a nation and leads to the more crisis.

However, if a country is very rich in their art and culture might greatly benefit from the government’s investment in art so as to generate revenue from tourism, for example, Italy, which has a rich heritage and receive a huge number of tourisms because of this. So, they should provide funds to their heritage and art department or organization, so that they can improve the tourist experience.

Last but not the least, even the less developed can also fund to arts, as they could be beneficial from this, for example, India, which has one of the oldest cultures in the world, but the government is not focusing on it obviously there are several others issue with the country and because of this their cultural and art condition is not well such river Ganga which is considered to be as Goddess Ganga is very polluted. So, if they start funding for their arts, this will contributes to an overall positive tourism experience.

In a nutshell, we can say that whether to fund arts or not vary from country to country. If a country is in developed or a country can be hugely benefited by funding art, then they should definitely provide funds. But as mentioned if a countries economic condition is not good then they should avoid funding and focus to revive their economy.