Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The statement argues that scandals are the most effective way to grab attention to the problem. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time, while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the argument and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

There are several ways that will help to focus on the problems and scandal is one of them, which often bring out the truth of events which have been occurring from last few months or year or even decades. They would help the people or the Government in finding the flaws in the system and act on it accordingly, for example, in India government finds the flaws in the banking after the scandals of business tycoon Nirav Modi and Vijay Mallya, and as in the response, the government made changes in their banking laws. So, scandals can be very useful to address the problem.

However, scandals can be used in a negative way or for the personal benefits and this could have led to the serious repercussion on others, for example, many TV and films actors use scandals in order to gain publicity and sometimes used to destroy the image of Superstar or co-actor or actress. So, we should be very careful while a scandal came out in public and one should not use this a weapon against someone for revenge purposes or just to gain some fame.

Last but not the least, sometimes scandals present the vague scenario of the problem and this way more harmful for both the society and the person itself, for example, in 2016 the USA presidential election, Donald Trump was accused of the illegal collaboration with the Russian government to win the presidential election but when the investigation completed, he was found not guilty. This would definitely affect his image and the people of the USA and in this nobody was sure and there is no powerful evidence against him.

In nutshell, as mentioned above scandals can be a very important factor in not only addressing the problem but also in finding out the solution to the problem. But as we know every coin has two faces so as scandal too, it can also be used to harm the image of others for some personal benefits.