Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

The author of the statement stated that those areas or fields that will be beneficial for the larger number of people should be focused on by the scientist. Many of us will argue that this will not hold all the time, while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

Science and technology bring lots of revolution from the industrial revolution to the Internet revolution and all credit goes to the scientist and researcher as through their continuous efforts and hard works all these become reality. If you ask someone or any individual about flying in the sky in the 18th and 19th century, they won't belive you and instead make fun of you. But now the whole planet Earth is connected with the airways. Technology brings a lot of easiness in human being lives and increase the productivity of any work you take, for example, before emails you have to post the mail or you can send a telegram if want to inform someone or ask about our near ones, but since the email was introduction we can end greeting or mails within few minutes depending on your internet speed.

Our scientist is continuously working to bring some changes in our lives or to invent something that will be beneficial to the world, sometimes they succeed but failed also in their research and even they spent whole life to their research but get nothing from it. But here the big question is that in which field or area they should be focused on. As recommended by the author that they should focus on those area they will able to benefit the greater number of people through their development. we can evaluate the effectiveness of the recommendation from the current situation of Covid-19. Now the scientist and researcher focused field is to produce a cure for this pandemic which cause destruction in the whole world, many have lost their lives because of this and the reason for this current situation is that we don't have a cure of it. So, from the current scenario, the recommendation is worthy and the scientist should be focused on the researcher in this area.

However, it is impossible to precisely predict the value of research. The research of Mendel was recognized decades later for its value to reveal the secret of inheritance. Turing machine was just a simple model, but the idea behind it opened an era of computer science. For many greatest discoveries, people at their time were often unable to truly understand the value of the research. Sometimes, it is even difficult to judge whether it is beneficial or not. For example, people initially studied opium for medical use to diminish pain. On the contrary, the issue of drug abuse creates much more pain, not to mention it even evoked wars in human history. Therefore, the great uncertainty of scientific research determines that the standard of benefits to most people is basically invalid.

In sum, we can say that the scientist and researcher should be encouraged to solve our troubles and make new inventions for our great future.