In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

The author of the statement claims that in order to become an all-rounder in all the fields. college must take other courses. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time will others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

As we know education plays a major role in shaping the career of students. They provide opportunities to the student to study what they want to and allow them to pursue their favorite or interested field. but as we know 21st-century industries demand that they required a candidate who has knowledge of other subjects other than their field, for example, a civil engineer must have a knowledge of computer and related software. The author also recommended that an individual can become an all-rounder by taking courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

We have seen that by reading books, novel, mythology, many became well-rounded individuals, for example, JP Oppenheimer how gave nuclear bomb to the world once stated in his interview that he reed the Hindu mythology book Bhagvat Geet and learn many things from the book teachings, which were very helpful for him while developing the nuclear bomb. So, if one study other courses like mentioned above another their major field than it would help them and they can use their learning from these course in their field or other.

However, we can not ignore a fact that we are living in a society where we do a lot of work through technology, form talking friends or family who are far away from us or by reaching office by driving the car, we are surrounded by the technology. And if one wants to learn other things they can use the advantage of living in the technology-oriented world and become good in other fields also, for example, if a person working for the non-technical firm: a firm that does not require the usage of software and suddenly his boss asks him to make the ppt for the client. In this case, he can learn how to make ppt through a platform like youtube or any other digital platform and this the best way to learn in minimum time. So, this is just a basic example, we many other examples who will challenge the author's claim.

Last but not the least, if not use technology or not even study course that including reading and many more, even then also we can successful became all-rounder, here I will quote the example of Apple founder Steve Jobs, who gave a speech regarding the connecting dots during the graduation day in Stanford University, he said that he dropped the college and start learning calligraphy and then he starts focusing on his start-up name as Apple, but when he was removed as the CEO of the company he founded another company that makes animated films and here he uses the calligraphic skill that he learned. So, here I mentioned this example just to show that if study anything, not the subject that recommended by the author then also you can become an all-rounder.

In sum, as mentioned above yes we can become an all-rounder by taking courses in which we read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature, but that does not mean that this is the only way to do, there are several other ways to achieve knowledge of other fields.