Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The statement argues that the universities should make sure that every student should take courses beyond their own fields of study. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

First, universities are like the temple for those who want to pursue their education further. So, it is the duty of a university to provide quality education and a good exposure to the students of their field. And due to high demand of a person having knowledge of multiple subject, universities should ask their student to take other variety of courses outside their field.

Nowadays, engineering is one the demanding field of study and it has many branches example - Civil Engineering, Electrical engineering, Mechanical engineering etc. Suppose a student of electrical engineering who only studied electrical engineering subject in university. But when he will join industry then he has to consider a lot of other factors like optimum cost, environmental impact etc. However he only studied electrical engineering during university time. He will not be able to handle effects of other factors. But if he had studied some financial and environmental courses then he could have done this task effectively.

However, we should not also forget there may be a number of students who are struggling with their grades or may be having lack of interest in studies. And if the universities forces these student to study other subject also that it will create more pressure on them and which could to depression, anxiety or may be suicidal attempt. So, we must be very thoughtful and aware about all the consequences, when we ask student to take more subject of other fields. On solution could be is that, if universities left this decision to the student than it would have great result as every student has a right to choose or not.

In nutshell, as we now the demands of the present industries, universities should introduce subjects that are not in the field of a student. Bu the decision on whether these subjects will include or not should be up to the student, in short not compulsory.