Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

The author of the statement stated that leaders are those who fulfill the demands of their followers. Many of us will argue that this will hold true all the time. While others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the argument and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

Leaders are those who lead everyone despite his own morals, personal interest, and view with which everyone won't agree, but they are created by the expectations and demands placed on them. They are expected to serve the demands, needs, and problems that people are facing. To being with, in early days when the era of colonialism and the industrial revolution was at there peak, people are looking for a leader, who can not only represent them and put forward their demands, but also fight for their right, show them right and encourage them, for example in 1900s when India was under the colonization of the Britisher, the people of India choose Mohan Das Gandhi as their leader to fight for their rights and make India a free country and in the same way other countries also choose their leader like in South Afric Nelson Mandela and many more.

Furthermore, the demands and problems also change with time, and thus the leader should be protean enough to change with it, for example, during the cold war era, the leaders of the USA and the USSR had immense pressure on them as both wanted to prove their hegemony in space. But currently, their roles have been changed with time. From time to time the priorities and demands will get change, so leaders should be prepared themselves for this and be ready with their vision as per the current situation and demands like in 19th and 20th century the demands was to developed or modernize their country without thinking about other factors, but now because of the change in demand to protect the environment and development also the world leaders come up with Paris agreement to keep the earth temperature less than 2-degree celsius.

Last but not the least, sometimes leader take the opportunity of their position for wrongdoing by declaring themselves as Supreme leader of their country like in Hitler did in Germany or President Xi Jinping of China declared himself as the leader of China until his death or by choosing the path of corruption instead of development, like the leaders of Southeast Asia Countries did and this is one of the most important factors responsible for the poverty and other criminal activities. So, If people choose you as their representative than they must ensure to work for the welfare of society, not for their welfare.

In sum, as mentioned above leaders are those who represent a people's point of view and their demand. They should work for their social welfare and if a leaser found guilty of not performing their duties, then they should be replaced by the new one.