The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

The author of the statement stated that the deciding factor of greatness should be based on the number of people followed his path or appreciate them not by their contemporaries. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time, while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the argument and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

A person can be called great, if he/she bring changes to the society in a positive way, for example, in India during the struggle of Independence from Britisher, a man later known as Mahatma Gandhi brought all Indians together and fight with the Britisher through non-violence and also brought changes like equality among all, try to enlighten people about how we can get independence and many more. And now considered as the father of the nation in India and respected by the whole world. So, we can measure his greatness through the number of people that follow him and appreciate him.

However, now the time has been changed we are living in the internet era where you have access to anything of your need or required and in the same way you can also decide the greatness of a person by searching him on the internet as the internet will provide you the all the records and data related to the person, for example, if want to know how great Portugal footballer Ronaldo is, then just type his name on the internet and you will find a lot of information about him. As we are talking about the internet how can we forget the importance of social media in judging the greatness of an individual? The criteria for the greatness in social media is through the number of followers an individual has on his page like on Instagram footballer Ronaldo is only one who has 200 million-plus followers on Instagram, so here you can see that how he influences a large section of society.

Furthermore, another factor that will help us in deciding the greatness is through television, because it a tendency of the Televisions channels to cover all the news related to the famous personality in their country or in the world. For example, we can evaluate a politician on the basis of her work records and manifestos. Similarly, a sportsperson can be judged on grounds of her performance in concerned sports; her games could be easily viewed on television, and we can then decide her greatness on the basis of her gameplay.

In sum, the author recommendation is somewhat old for the current scenario, as we are living in the internet era all pieces of information that we need are available there, so if we want to know that a particular individual is great or not we can find out it over the internet.