Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students

The author of the statement stated that the government should make education free to all the students. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time and others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

As we know education plays a major role in shaping the career of students. The more successful students are in their career the better the growth opportunities and a great future which in turn proves out to be useful for the society, the country they are residing in one way or another. So, the government should make sure in their particular region that everyone gets access to education. There could be many ways to provide education or encourage their citizen to study and one of them could be as suggested by the author is free education.

Free education will definitely encourage the parents to send their children to school or college and this would be even beneficial for the economically backward people who do not even have access to basic amenities. This step will also bring changes in society and the difference between the rich and poor could be eradicated because poor children have access to education as we know that education is the most powerful tool to bring the changes in the society and after completing his studies he would able to get a good job and help his family.

But as we know every coin has two sides, free education too. The problem with is recommendation is that if a government start offering the education for free of cost then, how they will pay the salaries of education staff and all the other facilities provided in the school or colleges like labs playing grounds, library and many more. These things will become burdens on the government financial institutes and they will start taking more tax from the public, in order to compensate the free education.

Furthermore, for countries like UK, USA, and many other western countries it may be viable to provide free of cost education because of their GDP and less population, but this idea will fail in the countries like India and many South Asian countries. These countries are facing various other issues like poverty, safe drinking water and even the literacy rate in these country are very low as compared to other countries in the world and if they make the education free then this will be a disastrous step for their country

Last but not the least, but still even after many drawbacks and flaws in the idea of free education no one could deny that this step should be taken by all the countries, and to overcome these flaws they should find out about the best possible way to implement the idea.

In sum, free education for all is good and the government must consider this, but as mentioned above it may not be feasible for each and every country as they are struggling with many other things which are important for human survival.