Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The statement argues that after five years all those in power in any field should be step down, the reason being new leadership only can lead the enterprises to the surest path of success. Many of us will argue it will hold all the time, while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

The powerful person should step down or not after five years is a debatable issue because in some condition it is necessary for the leader to continue and some conditions it will be a win-win situation for everyone if their leader would step down, for example, in Pakistan PM Imran Khan is not able to control or work effectively to dissuade the terrorism, bring out people from poverty, not able to take effective measure for their feeble economy, so If he steps down from his position and some other person take his person with the caliber and have a maverick mind to make Pakistan a great country then it will good for all the person living in Pakistan.

However, as we all know that experience is the best teacher than how could you expect from someone, that he/she will change the current situation. According to me, five is too less to judge someone or for someone to show their caliber and if the condition is too bad in any field that it will make difficult to judge, for example, in India, about 33 percentage of the total population(130 billion) is living below the poverty line and if the except their leader that he will bring out all of them from poverty within the tenure of the five year than it is next to impossible, the leader will require few more year or 2 or 3 decades also to make this happen.

Last but not the least, if somebody is doing a great job in his field and giving you an extra-ordinary result, then it makes no sense to remove that person after five years. By doing so, you will not only lose a great leader but a heavy loss to the organization.

Thus, in my view, the surest path to success for any enterprise isn't revitalization through new leadership. In fact, this is the best way to review a diminishing or a crumbling enterprise and not an established business, political, or government field.