Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

The author of the statement says that state laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

Every country has certain laws and regulations and as per laws and regulation, they have decided the amount of the punishment, for example, if someone break traffic rule he will be punished with a fine of few dollars like 100 or 200, but if a person kills or rape someone then the severity of the punishment will be different. A country cannot run properly if there no rule or regulation because laws restrict the citizen to do their work with limits and if they violate these limits they have fact the criminal or other charges as per the countries law.

Furthermore, while making law the government should consider various scenario so that the law will be fair and equal for every citizen of the country and also to the circumstances in which a person has to break the law, for example, if a person tries to kill you and you left with the options of life or death then you can break the law in order to protect yourself. So the government must take care of these things and try to improve the laws by doing amendments so that whatever drawbacks in the laws will get rectified. But this does not mean the laws would create biasness on account of the government that has enforced the law.

Moreover, the laws incorporated around the globe are not restricted to one’s territory but also there are certain laws formed by the international organizations that all the countries should abide to. For example, in the use of nuclear technology, there are certain rules and regulations a country must follow in order to acquire the technology. Nobody can forget the catastrophic and destructive effects of atom bombs that were dropped on the Japanese soil by the United States in the year 1945 during World War II. This resulted in the United Nations forming more firm and stringent laws for the restricted use of nuclear technology. The countries that want to acquire this technology for the production of power and energy have to abide by the laws that have been framed by these organizations. Otherwise, there would be more incidences that would cause more human calamity.

In sum, countries need rules and regulations in order to maintain civility in society, but these laws should not be made in order to give favor to a part of society. The laws should be fair and equal to all and need to be revisited to check whether there is a need for amendment in the law or not.